Researching online

Well, I missed posting anything in February, and it seems to me like the month just zipped by; but I do remember shoveling (a lot). As usual, I had many false starts at writing a post, but eventually grew either disinterested or discouraged and just gave up. There’s so much I could write about, but by the time I gather my thoughts, I feel like the world has moved on to the next idea and whatever I’m writing about, feels like old news. Such is the speed at which the world seems to move nowadays.

embedded-infographic-600-logo

Which brings me to this post. This week I had the privilege of getting in front of people and talking a bit about one of my areas of specialty; doing research online. On Monday I was invited to speak to Ms. Morin’s and Mr. Andrew’s junior year English classes, as they prepared to research a current “controversy”. Then on Wednesday, I was invited to present to the Haverhill Public School’s ELA teachers, many of whom are friends and colleagues I already work with regularly.

On both occasions I used a permutation of a slide show I’ve used and modified many times throughout the years. The basic idea is that using GOOGLE to do research for school projects is not acceptable in most cases, and that we need to teach our students how to find reliable online resources and how to recreate an online digital “library” for themselves. I hope to be able to share the slideshow here on this blog in the near future, but in the meantime, any teacher who is interested in getting a copy can contact me at htoromoreno@haverhill-ps.org.

teaching cover

Among the other points I highlighted in my presentation are:

  • We are all awash in information, but most of this information is personal or commercial, and isn’t really useful for our academic research.
  • Today’s students didn’t grow up with specialty references (atlas, dictionary, encyclopedia, thesaurus, etc.) which divide knowledge into different areas, therefore information is “flattened” … that is it all seems the same.
  • There are reliable and class worthy government sites available for students.
  • Clustering search engines such as Yippy and Carrot, help student find other keywords or phrases associated with their search terms.
  • Google Scholar and Wikipedia are ongoing digital projects that keep getting better and more useful for beginning academic research.
  • Students should be encouraged to turn to subscription databases available through their school or public libraries.
  • Databases are part of the “deep web” which is not made up of web pages and is therefore not available to search engines, not even Google.
  • Academic databases include all the citation information students need and teachers want in the proper MLA, APA or Chicago format.

4 ws

There’s more to this, but that’s the basic idea. Hope you find something useful and that you have a great weekend.

P.S. Getty Images has just made its database of 35 million photographs available for public non-commercial use. WOW is about all I can say about that … And I will definitely add GETTY IMAGES as a major link on this blog.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2014. All rights reserved.

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

