Book donations and web stories

……………I can’t believe it’s past the middle of November, but I hope everyone is having a good school year so far.  I feel like I don’t have any one particular thing I need to share with anyone who reads this, so instead, think of this as a digital cornucopia of websites, observations and other such goodies as we head towards the Thanksgiving Day Holiday.

……………If you haven’t already tried using the HHS OPAC, I’m here to remind you that we have nearly twenty five thousand titles in our collection and that we are always adding new books we acquire through purchase and through the generosity of our school community. Last week we were fortunate enough to receive three boxes of books thanks to Mary Sullivan and Melanie Kutschke who remembered the Haverhill High School library. The books were all in excellent condition and were evidently part of the research for a PBS documentary on Latinos in the United States. We want to thank them for the wonderful addition to our collection and encourage our readers to check out these books. Among the titles donated are:

As always, I run across many interesting stories that make me wonder and I’d like to share a few of these with you:

  • 10 Scientific Theories and Laws You Should Really Know: I love lists and this one is especially necessary in today’s modern day. Plus how can you top a list that has Newton, Einstein and Archimedes on it?
  • 10 Things we’ve learned about fat: I told you that I love lists. And I especially love lists where chocolate and bacon get to be the “good” guys. Although it kind of makes me wonder when we’re going to get the health information “right”.
  • Foods with 100 calories: This is the last list, I promise, and I include it only because I love food and I do all the cooking for my family. I would love to print out all 24 of these foods (in color, 8.5” x 11”) and make myself a giant laminated poster to remind me what constitutes 100 calories (But I won’t, of course). 13 large steamed shrimp or 43 Okra pods, you decide.
  • Artist creates faces from DNA left in public: I consider myself a lover of art and a supporter of science, but something about this story makes me think of the worst Orwellian horror multiplied by Kafka.
  • Writing by hand improves learning. I’m a scribbler and a journal keeper and a list maker. I collect random lost pens and have notebooks full of poems, stories, cartoons, line drawings and all sorts of other doodles. So of course, I am absolutely biased when I think about how valuable putting pencil or pen to paper is for your brain. These two articles (How handwriting trains the brain and Is Writing better than Typing) support my belief that there are other positive effects to learning by writing it down.

That’s all for now. I hope you have a great week and thank you for stopping by.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2013. All rights reserved.

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in books, LMC announcements, recommendations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

