Happy New Year, One Week In

……………A very belated Happy New Year to everyone. I hope that you had a great break and that you found yourself surrounded by delicious food, raucous cheer and friendly faces during the holidays. I had a chance to visit my family in New York and it was a great time indeed.

……………As usual, the idea of New Year’s resolutions came up and we made a game of it and laughed about it. While it was a light-hearted discussion, I think New Year’s resolutions are a great way to jump start a personal challenge, make a positive change and/or develop a skill you’ve always wanted. This blog started for me as a New Year’s resolution back in 2007, for the following year. I simply wanted a place to practice writing regularly and a forum that would allow me to communicate my interests (both professional and some personal) with an audience.

……………This post marks the beginning of my fifth year writing this blog. I have written 165 posts and shared over one thousand links to websites from everywhere around the web. Conservatively estimating that each post is about 500 words long, I’ve written over 80,000 words and I am probably closer to 100,000 words or the length of a 400 page book. I am not listing these numbers as a self-congratulatory exercise, but as a demonstration of how accumulating a little work over time can add up to something you didn’t even envision.

……………My mother used to say to me, “the thing to remember about life, is that one day follows the other”. She used this line in bad times as a way of saying, tomorrow you get to try again. She also used this line in good times as a warning, that without practice or a plan, you end up without direction.

……………New Year’s resolutions are something most of us take lightly, but they serve as a yearly reminder to take inventory of ourselves and of our lives. Planning to do something is just the beginning though. The harder part, as we all know, is doing it … and continuing to do it.

……………Thank you for stopping by and I hope you found something worthy of a resolution.

Quick Hits: As usual, there are some finds I’d like to share.

  • Most Popular New Year’s Resolutions: In the spirit of making changes, this infographic from LiveScience.com shows what most people promise to work on for the new year.
  • The Big Waste: The Food Network is not the first place I think of when I think of educational television, but they do have some delicious (and ridiculous) ideas for what to do with food. This program is advertised as something with a conscience, as the Food Network takes a look at how much food we waste on purpose. We throw away lots of food (surprise, surprise) because it just doesn’t “look good”.  (Sunday night, 1/08/12 at 10 pm)
  • A.J. Jacobs: How healthy living nearly killed me. In the spirit of Morgan Spurlock’s 30 day documentaries, Jacobs gives his short talk revealing how following all the best advice about how to live a healthy life led to some small changes that really matter.
  • Sebastian Wernicke: 1000 TEDTalks, 6 words: This statistician has given other TED Talks, and in this one he tackles the job of trying to distill the meaningful content of one thousand presentations to just six words. I could tell you what those words are, but that would rob you of the chance to wonder what they could be.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2011. All rights reserved.

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

