September Quick Hits

             I hope that you are getting well adjusted to all the changes that have happened since last year. We’re still a little confused about what happens around 4th and 5th period, but otherwise, I think we’re doing well in the Library Media Center. We’ve been open for business for a couple of weeks now, and have even met all of Ms. DaSilva’s freshman English classes for their orientation. We look forward to seeing the rest of the freshman classes in the coming weeks.

               Before I go on, I must give a great big “thank you” to Ms. Gauthier and Bart for getting our computers connected and running. Thank you also to Ms. Cripps for timely delivery of the VHS student list and to Ms. Shaffer downtown who taught me how to extract information from X2 we needed to update our circulation database. It’s easy to forget how much harder our jobs can be without a little help from those around you.

               The rest of this post is just what the title suggests, an unrelated (but hopefully interesting) quick list of ideas for your pleasure: 

  • Hispanic Heritage “Month”: September 15th through October 15th. Thank you to Ms. Esparza for reminding me of Hispanic Heritage Month which kicks off in in the middle of September. Why, you may ask? According to Wikipedia, “September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. They all declared independence in 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile and Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18, and September 21, respectively.” (Don’t worry, I checked their source … they lifted that quote from usa.gov). If you’re not sure what to do to commemorate this event, you can get some ideas and resources at:
  • Scholastic
  • Biography Channel  
  • Smithsonian Institute
  • Banned Books Week: I was reminded by a new English teacher that the last week of this month celebrates “Banned Books”; from September 24th until October 1st. Hard to believe that anyone would try to keep books out of kids’ hands, but there is actually a long and colorful history around “dangerous” books. JD Salinger, Mark Twain, Joseph Heller, even JK Rowling (Harry Potter) and Stefanie Meyers (Twilight) have faced the wrath of parents and communities afraid that what’s on the printed page could be more offensive than censorship. Find more information about this at the American Library Assocation site. They also have a great list of Frequently Challenged Books, along with a brief description on why the book was banned.   
  • A while back I found what I thought was this fascinating little video online called the Story of Stuff. I liked it because its simple line drawing animation made the complicated topic more manageable. Granted, there is what some would consider a left wing political lean to the videos, but there is much else to be considered. Media literacy is today just as important as print literacy, and even if you don’t agree with everything the producers of these videos from Allegheny College have to say, they do a good job of using video & animation to explain difficult ideas
  • I have this fascination with time and I love playing with calculators that tell me how much time has passed since or how long it will be until. I was wondering just how many days I’d actually been alive, so I found a fun little calculator on line to help me do the math. I was reminded that I was born on a Monday, and that at 5:30 on Friday, September 16, 2011 I was 534 months old or 2,325 weeks old or 16,279 days old or 390,713 hours old or 23,442,809 minutes old or 1,406,568,592 seconds old. P.S. My next birthday celebration happens in less than 156 days 6 hrs 30 mins 9 secs.

That’s all for now. Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a great Sunday.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2011. All rights reserved.

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

