Random recommendations

               While this is the time of the year when I’ve usually given up on trying to read books, I’m pushing myself to finish Super Searchers go to School, Literacy Online and The Elements of Library Research, so I can be a smarter librarian. Though I find each book interesting in its own way, each also has serious limitations that make me want to move on. The Super Searchers book, for example is a collection of over a dozen interview style transcripts, which makes it cozy and accessible, but boring after seven or eight such conversations. The Literacy Online book, although it was written relatively recently in 2004, already seems archaic in places mentioning HyperStudio and disposable 35mm cameras, explaining what is meant by “l8r” and “brb”, and finally, warning against the perils of “not reading a newspaper” (what is that?) Still, I am only chapters away from finishing all three, and I’ll be better equipped to do what I do afterward. (won’t I?)

               In the meantime, I’ve also been on the lookout for the kinds of information that might be useful for my colleagues and their students. I made copies for the guidance department of a collection of articles in the recent American Educator magazine, entitled “College for All?” The main article, “Beyond One-Size-Fits-All College Dreams: Alternative Pathways to Desirable Careers”, aims to dispel a number of myths and misunderstandings about what it means to go to “college”. Other articles examine what message open admissions sends and the connection between higher education and the economy.

               I know that when Ms. Begley teaches health and nutrition, she stresses the importance of examining everything that goes into our daily diets. It’s easy to forget, after all, what you’ve eaten in one week … especially when we can be so dishonest with ourselves. One book that I shared with Ms. Begley, and that I’m sure she shared with her classes, was the beautifully illustrated, “Hungry World: What the World Eats”. This book photographs 30 families from around the world with their weekly food intake. The book breaks down each family’s food into groups such as dairy, meats, and grains, and also provides the food cost information. Anyone interested in hearing the authors briefly talk about their experience while researching the book can listen here. Anyone interested in checking out the book should stop by and visit.

               I’d also like to pass along a link from one of my favorite sites, Top Documentary Films.com because it’s rare that you get a book like Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs and Steel turned into a movie. Best of all, the documentary is hosted and narrated by the author himself, journeying around the world to answer Yali’s question, “Why you white men have so much cargo, and we New Guineans have so little?”

               Finally, have I mentioned that we’ve got a new sandwich board in the LMC that will be advertising such daily specials as the “word” and “quote” of the day? It made its first appearance this past Friday, and had the impact I expected. Enough people, students and teachers, asked about the words and the quote to make it a worthy daily exercise. The first three words were perspicacious, sanguine and evanescent. (Don’t they sound delicious?) The first quote was, “A goal without a plan is just a wish” and was attributed to Larry Elder.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a great extended weekend.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2009. All rights reserved.

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

