Televison’s little rewards

          One of my guilty pleasures is watching a lot of television. I freely admit that I was raised on television and that I always have it on in my house. If my TV isn’t on and I’m home, then we’ve probably lost power. But I use my TV as background noise (visual and auditory) while I carry on — writing, reading, painting, doing laundry. I turn the volume up and down as needed, while I concentrate (on videos I’m watching online or while reading a particularly interesting and difficult book or magazine). Obviously, I have issues.

          The payoff, for me anyway, is that I find wonderful stories and resources that I can pass along to the readers of this blog. Most times, I find inspiration for a blog post from the History, Discovery or National Geographic type channels. Sometimes, however, I find a great story from a more unusual source.

          One such discovery comes from one of my favorite programs The Daily William KShow, with Jon Stewart. (I know it’s not real news) The story is about a young man named William Kamkwamba , from Malawi who was forced to leave school because his family couldn’t afford his schooling. Back around 2000, when he was just 14, young William started visiting the small library in his village, where he learned about energy and decided that he would build his family a windmill.

          It sounds like something out of a horrible fairy tale that begins with poverty and ends with a small, but significant triumph. In fact, it has been turned into a book titled, The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind: creating currents of electricity and hope. I’ll try to get a copy of the book for our library, but in the meantime, check out the links to find out more about this incredible young man’s resourcefulness and how he used knowledge and information to literally empower himself, and his family.

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you for Friday.

Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2009. All rights reserved

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Favorite Sites, tv schedules, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

