May Post

Yes, it has been a long time between posts; just after I had hit my rhythm again. That usually means one of three things: I am being lazy, I am just too busy or I haven’t got anything good worth posting. I’ll have you know that this time it has been a little bit of everything, even though that may seem impossible. How can you be lazy and busy, I hear you asking. I mean I have been lazy in writing, but busy in living. I am sure that clarifies it for you.

As is usual after NOT writing for more than a week, there is so much news to convey, that I feel I must resort to the bulleted list:

  •  Many of you have hopefully noticed that we are closed to visiting classes and study students this week due to testing. Teachers, staff, Virtual High School students and a few others with permission can still use the LMC facilities and computers to complete their work. All others are asked to please stay away from the LMC during the school day to ensure the quietest and best environment for students who are testing.
  • We are preparing the MAGAZINE subscriptions list for next year and want feedback from everyone as to what they would like to see on our racks come September. We currently subscribe to 40 titles, 25 of which are newsstand staples such as Time, Newsweek, Discover, Scientific American, Rolling Stone and Sports Illustrated. We try to change a dozen or so titles every year according to suggestions we get from everyone, so now is your chance to be heard.
  • We are also preparing the BOOK ORDER for next year and would really appreciate your input. We collect suggestions throughout the year for novels, books, movies and other materials, but sometimes those Post Its get lost, ya know.
  • The After School and Out-of-School Time Grant (ASOST) ACCESS ARTS program has started their new round of courses so please encourage students to check with Ms. Fontaine or Ms. Blim to see what is being offered.
  • I (Mr. T) will be teaching the mural painting class in the ASOST program. I am really excited about the possibilities and would love to hear what people in our school think would make a great mural. We will be painting what is currently the large blue bulletin board covered in laminated magazine pages – (my earlier lame attempt to decorate this space) – located in the hallway outside the TV studio. I already have three students signed on to paint the work, and class size is limited to eight participants. We are still brainstorming ideas and won’t begin painting for a few weeks, so there is time for more students to register and time to get feedback from anyone.

 Thank you for stopping by, and I will see you tomorrow.

 Copyright © henry toromoreno, 2009. All rights reserved.

 

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

