Science News

Why do I love science so much? I guess it’s because I truly believe that science more than any other human endeavor has radically transformed the way we live – for better and for worse. Today science impacts every aspect of our lives, and yet many people treat science as though it were something exotic and esoteric. Students and teachers need to stay current about developments in the various sciences and use this information in their discussions in art, history, math, and social studies classes. In reality, every discipline of study, even culinary arts, is informed by what is happening in science, if you search long enough for a connection.

Here are some of my favorite science “news” sites:

Science blogs: Maybe I am paying too much attention to blogs as a legitimate source for information because I am writing a blog. I mentioned this site twice before in the May 15th and July 14th posts. Still, Scienceblogs.com is not a collection of your run of the mill bunch of bloggers. This site boasts a humble 72 blogs in all – obviously they have some pre-requisites for joining. The writers of these sites are professors and graduate students in the fields they are discussing. Unlike so many other sites, these blogs tend to be well-written, informative and accessible to the average person.

Live Science: I mentioned this site on my third post ever on December 18th, when I said, “This is one of my favorite ‘science’ websites because it is really at the intersection of science, culture and news. Besides the latest science headlines, you’ll also find a number of top ten lists here, such as 10 urban science myths, 10 ways weather changed history and 10 of life’s little mysteries.” I stand by what I wrote then, and remind you to check it out.

Science Daily : I hope you didn’t feel cheated by my mentioning two sites I’d already talked about in previous posts. The two new entries to this list, however, are worth the reading (IMHO). The first is ScienceDaily.com which goes by the tagline “your source for the latest research news”. One of the great features of this site is that every article includes a box with cut and copy information about how to cite the source in both APA and MLA format.

The Bulletin: The second new site has to do with me being a child of the Cold War. One of my earliest nightmares had to do with the threat of nuclear proliferation. When I found out later on that there was actually such a thing as a “Doomsday Clock”, it gave rise to my adolescent nightmares. As an adult, I’ve got a whole new set of more immediate nightmares to deal with, but The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists keeps tabs on the dangers that threaten us all. It used to be that these scientists only gauged the consequences of political actions to assess the health of International Relations. Their last update in 2007, however, began to consider the consequences of global climate change as it impacts the course of human history towards it eventual demise.

Happy reading and stay informed. See you all soon.

© 2008 henry toromoreno

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Favorite Sites and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

