Midsummer Night’s Post

It is the middle of July, and I have missed posting anything new. I have been working, as most of you probably are as well; preparing myself for the upcoming year. In the meantime, I have enjoyed surfing the web and finding more interesting sites, articles and resources. I’ve gathered a handful of virtual destinations that I would love to share with you. I hope that you find at least one that is worth your while:

  •  Strange maps is a blog dedicated to maps and cartographic illustrations (Mr. Cosgrove should appreciate this one). The maps come from all kinds of sources, both real and fantastic.
  • I’ve already mentioned that Scienceblogs.com is a great place to find really well-written blogs by scientists, researchers and others in various fields. (I think). If I haven’t, then I mention it now and refer you to one that I found called Not exactly rocket science. The writing is accessible and the topics are interesting.
  • Popular magazines always post annoying lists of the greatest this or that. One list that I find intriguing, though, is TIME magazine’s list of the 100 greatest Graphic Novels. As a librarian, I am interested in what people read, especially young, high school types. This list is informative for those not yet familiar with the graphic novel.
  • A leading architectural historian, Joseph Rykwert, discusses what skylines “mean”. Believe it or not, the manmade landscapes we create contain just as much meaning as anything else that comes out of our wonderfully imaginative minds.
  • You probably already know what those inventive scientists are doing with the small Hadron Collider (I don’t think there is one). This link will take you to Brian Cox and his dicussion about his work on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. Not that you asked or anything, but I thought you should know.

Thanks for stopping by, and hope that summer is going well.

© 2008 henry toromoreno

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Favorite Sites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

