Free Rice … Resolution Reminder

     New Year’s Resolutions are meant to be ambitious. They are supposed to make you work diligently at being a better, more magnanimous person. So it’s hardly ever a surprise when you fail to keep them.  Such was my own suggestion that you assuage world hunger by visiting FreeRice.com and donating 7,200 grains of rice per week; about one cup. The site is associated with the United Nations World Hunger Program and it is free to use.

     I have been frequenting the site about twice a week and playing the vocabulary game. At twenty grains per correct answer, I figured I’d be ending world hunger by about June because I know words … this is no confabulation, I assure you. But it’s not going to happen. I have only donated 21,000 grains so far (less than three cups) and wrote this entry mostly to remind you to visit the site. If 10 people took me up on the challenge that’s almost thirty cups. If 100 people did, well, you do the math. Now stop being so parsimonious with your internet time, and feed some mouths with your mind.

Free Rice Banner

© 2008 henry toromoreno

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Favorite Sites and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Rice … Resolution Reminder

  1. truth says:

    nice, but i challenge you to 14,400 per week! 🙂

  2. T says:

    There’s no way I can even do 7,000 a week, much less 14,400. Every 15th post wipes the last FreeRice post off of my MOST RECENT list, so that’s when I’ll update. Good luck and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

