Remember MLK

I was born a few years after Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated. Still, his life and legacy changed everything about the world, and therefore, he impacted my life. I do remember being very young the first time I heard his “I have a dream” speech — I was only about five or six. It was the first time I heard music in someone’s voice who wasn’t singing. Later, when I was able to understand the content of the speech, it was one of the first times that I was emotionally moved by language. Throughout my life, there has always been a part of my mind (and heart) that has held onto the ideals expressed by MLK on that August day. The notion of a country built on the ideals of freedom, equality, and justice appealed to me when I was a believer in big things. And even today, when I should know better, I continue to believe that there is a “promised land” … and though I may not get there, perhaps my children will be pioneers in that still uncharted territoty.

Here are some links that provide text, audio and video of the late Martin Luther King:

© 2008 henry toromoreno

The King Center in Atlanta       Stanford University        MLK Online        American Rhetoric

About htwilson

born in brooklyn, raised in queens, massachusetts, that's where I be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

